Another take on last week’s Chicago conference

Josh Coffman of DNA Networks and I trade notes now and then, but we’ve never met. I didn’t realize he was event at the Strategy Institute conference last week in Chicago until I had to split for the airport after Day 1.

He stuck around for both days, and has a good post up on the Digital Signage Forum about his impressions of the event.

Like me, he found there was way too much of a platform afforded to event sponsors. If I am a network operator, I can call software and hardware guys to come, even fly, to see me and take as long as I want. I don’t need to drop a couple grand for the registration and travel to sit through product pitches thinly, if at all, veiled as expert panels.

The networking/card-swapping is valuable for a lot of us, but what’s happening in front of the mikes has to get a lot better or I don’t see these third-party, for-profit events having much more of a shelf life.

Explore posts in the same categories: Events, Opinion, People, Sightings

2 Comments on “Another take on last week’s Chicago conference”


  1. I’d love to talk with you more about this. If you are interested, shoot me an email at lawrence@jdevents.com

  2. Raji Kalra Says:

    I know Josh, he is a good guy. We were assisting him wih some content work for a large hotel poject he is gearing up for.


Leave a Reply

